Deborah Lippmann Gel Lab TOP coat review

C360_2013-09-27-13-41-10-336_resizedEarlier this year, I received the Lippmann Gel Lab top and base coat set as my birthday present! And I have fallen IN LOVE with it. However, today I’ll only be reviewing the top coat.

The Top Coat:

The Gel Look: 8 out of 10. I’ve been using them for the past few designs I’ve posted so you can judge for yourself how “gel like” it actually looks. Personally, it doesn’t look exactly like gel, but it is one of shiniest top coats I’ve used and it does have a slight cushiony look to it. This is also where it receives the most criticism publicly. Just remember that it isn’t gel and the harmful effects of gel.

Drying Speed: 10 out of 10. It’s very fast drying. I’ve previously been using Essie’s good to go which I was highly satisfied with. But Lippmann is faster. I’m up and about doing anything I want within minutes of setting down my top coat.

Endurance: This gets 12 out of 10 in my book. It’s been about 10 days since I’ve painted my mid-autumn design and this is what it looks like now.C360_2013-09-27-13-23-39-592_resized
This is my dominant hand and I’ve been working like a madwoman, counting coins, smashing them in cash drawers, clawing open boxes, building furniture and pretty much not giving a single thought to how I was using my nails. Not counting the gap at the bottom which is the natural growth of my nails, I’ve come away with only a few chips. Can you find the flaws? (mind you not everyone stares intently at your nails for minutes. If they do….well that’s just creepy)

On another occasion, I completely reorganized my keys. We all know what key rings have the potential to do to your nails. Not one scratch, dent or chip. What more could you ask for?

These are the flaws you should have found:see the damage
Overall, I’d give the top coat 9 out of 10. It lost a mark with the pricing, the set is $46 CND for the set making each one $23. If I hadn’t received it as a gift I probably would never had gotten it. For me, the quality of the product is probably worth about $15, the rest is brand. But definitely put it on your wish list this year!

Leave a Reply

