History

Here are some of my past creations as I’ve been logging them. Obviously it didn’t take me too long to start blogging since then.

Adventures of a rose:
This was done during finals last year when my nails were already otherwise preoccupied, I decided to try a new technique I learned on drawing roses.
Unfortunately I couldn’t find the video again, but you basically take two drops of polish (using a doting tool) and then with a toothpick or the smallest dotting size and swirl it around! The original version used acrylic paints, but I just used polish which blends a little bit easier so you’ll have to practice a few times.

Base color: Essie – little brown dress
p.s. you can get fake nails from Dollarama, really good for practicing things, especially when you really need to paint nails and your nails are occupied or resting. Haven’t actually used them on my nails though…and frankly I don’t want to try.

Starry Starry Ocean:
I’ve had this thing for blue colors lately, even though I don’t really wear blue. The base color was a gift from a friend, so of course I had to show it off! and it just so happens that I found a bag of tiny golden stars while wrapping Christmas presents, don’t you think they compliment nicely? The gradient sparkles imitate a shoreline or fading sky.

Base color: Am. Apparel – Malibu Green
Detailing: Tokidoki – Savana

Let it glow:
Christmas lights are not an original idea, but I thought, why not try and make them glow?
The sparkles were the hard part, for green and yellow I had to steal little sparkles that clung to the polish brush. For the red I developed a new technique. I put a couple drops of clear polish into a compartment of paint tray (I think some kind of plastic would work too, but the tray keeps it contained) and then sprinkle as much sparkle as you want onto it. Now you have glitter polish!
If you find glitter that you looove, you could probably just pour it into the bottle directly, but I haven’t found that yet. Plus I like having the flexibility.

Base color: Sally Hanson – Raven (which is NOT pure black, but it’s pretty sufficient)
Green lights: Deborah Lippmann – Mermaid’s Dream
Yellow lights: Deborah Lippmann – Boom Boom Pow; Revlon – Gold Coin
Red lights: Loreal – Iron-willed
honestly can’t remember what I used for the vines…

Colors of the Wind:
Can’t remember where the inspiration came from, no it’s not from Pocahontas, but it didn’t quite turn out the way I wanted it to. Mattified the base color to get the gold and colors to “pop” but the matte was difficult to handle (still working on that) so the gold didn’t really shine. Did this too long ago to comment more….

Base color: Revlon – Elegant
Detailing:
Chanel – Matte
Revlon – Gold Coin
Essie – little brown dress
Loreal – Iron-willed
Wet n’ Wild – Sunny Side Up

Leave a Reply

